Niels Klein Tentett – The Last Soup

JHM 163

Niels Klein - ts, ss, cl
Oliver Leicht - as, ss, cl, fl
Steffen Schorn - bar, bass-sax, bcl, bass-fl, tubax
Stephan Meinberg - tp, flgh, picc-tp
Arkady Shikloper - French horn
Mathias Muche - tb, tuba
Frank Wingold - g
Wolf Kerschek - vib, marimba
Dietmar Fuhr - b
Eric Schaefer - dr

1. Tanzlied (7’25) / 2. CPO (10'57) / 3. In the Fridge (7'33) / 4. Last Soup (8’29) / 5. This Time (7'26) / 6. Field Rotations (7'37) / 7. Second Soup (10'33) / 8. Kanon (6'58)

"Compositional strictness coupled with maximum amount of freedom": Niels Klein`s competence has already been confirmed in the year 2000 when he won the prize of the "Jazzpodium Niedersachsen". With "The Last Soup" he still sticks to his concept. The Niels Klein Tentett is orchestra and band at the same time. Its music bundles up a multitude of musical influences. Harmony and polyphonic techniques in the spirit of Shostakovich and Ligeti meet gooves that remind of TripHop bands as Massive Attack. The utmost varied cast facilitates a surprisingly big richness of sound that is kept right down to earth by the expressiveness of each band member.